Geeking Out – Week 5 Reflections

I’ll admit it: I am geek and I geek out a lot about things that most people would have absolutely no interest in. I, and a few of my friends, are big fans of classic kung-fu movies. We’ll debate which series of movies are the best and, within each series of movies, which movies are the best and which fall flat. During one really long road trip, we devised an immensely complicated genetics program in which we would combine the DNA of Bruce Lee, the real Ip Man, Donnie Yen, Pai Mei, and Chuck Norris to create the kung-fu supreme being. It’s even written down somewhere. Also written down somewhere is our dream line up of alien and monster battles and who we think would win for each battle.

We didn’t know that what we were doing was building a community. If you asked us, we wouldn’t consider ourselves a community. We are just a group of friends who like to get together, watch movies and bicker about how it should have ended or what would be AWESOME in the next movie.

I really enjoyed reading about how Ricardo Pitts-Wiley found a new way to engage students with classic texts like Moby Dick. It was a great example of remixing a text how the student needs to hear it as opposed to how the teacher wants to present it. Herman Melville is a difficult author for many readers to access it, but Pitts-Wiley turned the text in a way that allowed his students to insert their lives into what they were reading.

I was definitely more comfortable relating to our readings this week; maybe because I was able to see more of myself and my own practices in the readings or maybe because I turned my focus back to a much more positive space. I was a little disappointed that the required reading annotations this week were much less active than previous weeks. I really wanted that discussion this week after getting jazzed up about how annotation can be a playful way to engage with what you are learning or reading. I guess I feel like the kid who ran out to the playground with a brand new ball and found no one to play with.

Person-Being-Girl-Woman-Sad-Free-Image-Alone-Emoti-4413

This week has really reinforced that nothing we create or remix or annotate is created in a vacuum. As a class, we are interdependent on each other to create our blogs which we each need to we can complete our required annotations. We need each other within the annotations to have those community and affinity interactions to pry open our readings, experience and perspectives a little wider so learning can creep in.

Leave a Reply

