Goodnight Sailor Moon

Goodnight-Sailor-Moon

In case you can’t tell, this is a mashup of the classic children’s book Goodnight  Moon and the anime Sailor Moon.

My father is a HUGE anime fan. Fullmetal Alchemist, Bleach, Rurouni Kenshin, Gurren Lagann, InuYasha, Fate/Zero – you name it, he’s watched it. That is the power of Netflix.

All this anime watching has also turned my dad into a big fan of Japanese pop music. I’ll pop by his house and the most random, bubble-gum Japanese lyrics will be streaming from his computer and he’ll be rocking out in his chair as he works on his great American Sci-fi/Fantasy novel that he’s been working on for the last few years.

One thing my father is not is a big social media participant. That being said, my dad chimed in on Facebook last week for the first time in more than a year and updated his status with:

“Call me weird if you want, but I like some Japanese pop music.”

The second I saw the post, I felt guilty. For all my talk about accepting my family’s quirks, I’ve been guilty of giving him a hard time about his anime-loving and Japanese pop-music obsession.

Pot guilty of calling kettle black.

What makes this worse is that my dad has never given me a hard time about my many weird obsessions namely Godzilla (and other kaiju) movies, kung-fu movies, crime documentaries, and refusal to use blue pens (except on legal documents) not to mention a pathological hatred of bananas, long toenails, hairy toes, and people who don’t return shopping carts to their proper location.

I guess it’s fair to say that I need to get a little better at practicing what I preach. His quirky pastimes are just as valid as mine and I should stop giving him a hard time about them.

Leave a Reply

