Mixed Nuts & Bolts – Week 3 Reflections

Things really came together for me this week conceptually. From our readings about DIY and the recommended/personal interest readings, the idea of perception of worth is really starting to gel in my mind. In the hands-on and online DIY culture, it’s about the value that the finished “product” has for the creator/produser and the enjoyment they get out of it. The enjoyment of others for the creation is really just an added bonus.

In many ways, this applies to interest in my interest in exploring what is and is not “normal.” The question has slightly reframed itself in my mind to be more about the value is moving away from quantifying people as more valuable because they fall within some arbitrary measurement of a “standard” human life and more about how nobody truly meets the criteria for “normal.” More to come on that.

I didn’t have any problems with the pacing of the work and was actually excited to get to the readings. I was really excited to see nice response from Alan Levine for one of my Daily Creates. The Video Assignment was tough for me. I have a phobia about being in front of a camera for pictures of videos. Primarily it’s because, for some weird reason, I don’t recognize myself in pictures or videos. But, I wanted to challenge myself so I went for it and just got it over with. That and I was starting to feel like I was coming down with something and I wanted to complete the assignment before I felt like I was run over by an 18-wheeler.

I think I was pretty successful this week in spite of some tough challenges. I feel like I am starting to learn some very important lessons from this class. As strange as it sounds, I’m just not 100% sure what it is I am learning. Feel free to tell me if that makes no sense to you…

On a side note, I did learn another important lesson this week: do not try to read the required readings when in bed with strep throat and a fever. I was so out of it that I started rereading the chapter from the first week.

Leave a Reply

