Isn’t that special. Well, sort of…

There are some days that I wish that I could have one thing about me that is normal. It’s never going to happen. The weirdness permeates my family on a micro-cellular level. Most of us accept it but I’ve never been one to blindly accept anything.

So, what makes me so special that I would talk about myself on the internet? I have three very special gifts: shopping, klutziness, and being the instant best friend of any child under the age of five. Judging by what you see in this video you may also think that I have a talent for making other people look tan. It’s true. I’m pale. People who think they are looking pale feel better after we compare arms. Does that count as a fourth skill?

Some days I wish I could dance or sing or paint or run complex mathematical equations. The dancing requires a sense of rhythm and balance that I fundamentally lack. I’m a decent singer but I have a phobia about singing where anyone can hear me (long story short: I was once in a children’s choir and held the last note of a song a few beats to long and was on the receiving end of a crowd’s laughter…shudder). I’m a pretty good abstract painter but I lack the time and commitment to develop it and complex math reminds me of my sister who I emotionally chafe against.

In the video, I talk a little bit about my “toddler mojo.” Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s a great skill. I’ve had many friends just look at me in awe of how easily I can relate to little kids. I’ve had stressed out friends and family members hand me their babies and toddlers as soon as I walk in the door just to get a moment of peace and quiet then get annoyed that I was able to calm their child so quickly.

Sometimes I don’t like the mojo. Sometimes I don’t like having my friends and family ask me to come over to play with the kids or ask me to help them to calm down. Some days are bad days when I’m remembering the day my doctor told me I would never have children of my own. Fortunately, those days aren’t so frequent and the hurt doesn’t last as long as it used to, but I’ll always wonder what I missed out on if I’d have been able to have kids of my own.

I wish I knew where the mojo came from. I think it comes from the fact that I take little children as I meet them. I meet them on their level and talk to them like they’re just miniature adults and they understand everything I’m saying to them. I play with them on the floor and let them tell the story for our game.

It humbles me sometimes that these little kids trust me like that. I hope I never lose my “mojo.”

Leave a Reply

