Better Late Than Never…

I am infamous for not being a morning person. I will sleep until the last possible moment then jet through my morning routine. Breakfast is always eaten standing up next to the kitchen counter and I brush my teeth at the kitchen sink in between opening the garage door and getting my lunchbox out of the fridge.

So why do I put myself through this crazy routine every morning? Why not just get up a few minutes earlier so I can take my time?

I tried it for a month once. I lost a bet with a friend and the penalty was I had to live the life of a morning person for one month. It sucked. What can I say? I got pulled into a sucker bet and that I was so sure I couldn’t lose and I got creamed.

So back to my month as a morning person. These were the rules:

  1. I had to wake up every morning at 5:30. No hitting the snooze button allowed.
  2. I had to get to the gym by 5:50 so I could join the 6:00 daily Body Pump class. Grrrr…
  3. I was back at home by 7:00 to shower, get dressed, and eat a healthy cooked breakfast.
  4. I had to be to work EARLY a.k.a. by 8:15.

It was the longest month of my life (almost as long as the month I had to wear nothing but skirts or dresses; same friend, different bet).I felt perpetually tired and out of sorts. My concentration at work wasn’t great and my energy would die at about 2 PM. I felt snippy and crabby. I think my coworkers were running a secret countdown on how much longer I had to go to complete the bet or maybe it was fatigue-induced paranoia.

At the end of the month, my friend thought that he had converted me into a morning person. I laughed in his face and turned off my alarm clock so I could sleep as late as I wanted to the next morning. Let me tell you, 9:47 is a beautiful time to wake up after a month of waking up before the sun.

You just can’t fight biology. I’m a night owl. I’d rather stay up later and get everything prepped and laid out so I can hit the snooze alarm a few more times. It’s saved me a few times too. Take the other day. I’m traveling on business and instead of hitting snooze, I hit the “Off” button. When my boss texted me at 8:14 I had just enough time to get dressed, throw on some makeup, brush my teeth, and sprint across the grounds of the hotel to be on time for my 8:30 meeting.

Leave a Reply

